Monika Sie Dhian Ho is chair of the Executive Board and Clingendael's General Director.

Supervisory Board



Prof. Dr. P.F. (Paul) van der Heijden

President Emeritus Leiden University; Professor of International Law at Leiden Law School – Chairman until 1 March 2019

Th. J.A.M. (Tom) de Bruijn

Former Permanent Representative of the Netherlands to the EU, former State Councillor, former Deputy Mayor of the Hague – Chairman since 1 March 2019

A. (Arjan) Buteijn, RA

Partner, Dubois & Co., Registered Accountants

M. (Maria) Henneman, MA

Director/Owner Henneman Strategies BV

D.P. (Dick) Scherjon, MA

Advisor to the Board of Rabobank Nederland; Colonel in the Reserves

H.H. (Hugo) Siblesz, MA

Secretary-General of the Permanent Court of Arbitration

K.G. (Koen) Berden, DR

Managing Director at Trade Impact B.V.; external Executive Director for International Affairs at EFPIA - since 1 December 2018

Clingendael amended its statutes on 18 March 2018. As a result of this amendment the governance of the Institute changed. The Clingendael governing board became the Clingendael Supervisory Board. In 2018, the (Supervisory) Board met on 5 occasions. The Supervisory Board discussed with the General Director and decided on inter alia the Annual Reports 2017, the Annual Budget 2018, the regulations and composition of its Committees, and organization and management issues. Furthermore the Board discussed various topical issues regarding the activities of the Institute.

The annual internal evaluation of the Supervisory Board took place on 13 June 2019. The Board examined its functioning, inter alia the adequacy of its composition and competencies; access to information; its relations with the General Director, the Management Team and the Works Council; risk assessment and issues of good governance. The recommendations as a result of the evaluation will be fully implemented as of mid-2019.